You are allowed to make an initial application in the UK (including switching from one
immigration category to another) if you are here with permission to stay as:
• a highly skilled migrant;
• a Tier 1 (General) migrant;
• a Tier 1 (Entrepreneur) migrant;
• a Tier 1 (Investor) migrant;
• a Tier 1 (Post-Study Work) migrant;
• a Tier 1 (Graduate Entrepreneur) migrant
• a Businessperson;
• an Innovator;
• a Student;
• a Student nurse;
• a Student re-sitting an examination;
• a Student writing up a thesis;
• a Work Permit holder;
• a Postgraduate Doctor or Dentist;
• a Self employed Lawyer;
• a Writer, Composer or Artist;
• an Investor;
• a participant in the International Graduates Scheme (or its predecessor, the Science & Engineering Graduate Scheme);
• a participant in the Fresh Talent: Working in Scotland Scheme;
• a Tier 2 migrant;
• a Tier 4 migrant; or
• a Prospective Entrepreneur.